Back to L. Warren Douglas's Home Page

Novels by L. Warren Douglas

From Baen Books...

The Sorceress's Tale, an epic historic fantasy comprised of three related but independent novels, is set in Provence, a few centuries after the fall of Rome.
Volume I, The Sacred Pool, paperback June 2002
Volume II, The Veil of Years, paperback, July 2002.
Volume III, The Isle Beyond Time, Paperback, Late 2002

Simply Human: Baen Books, August, 2000. Assaulted by random chemicals, solar radiation, and genetic manipulation, the human gene pool was falling apart. The solution: simplify it, making it redundant and self-correcting, then in a thousand years, when the planet was clean again, change it back. In the meantime, "Simplified" humans would keep civilization going. But after two thousand years, the automated monitors still register intolerable mutation rates.
Achibol the Sorcerer, dilapidated cyborg troubleshooter, is repairing them one by one, but someone something doesn't want him to succeed. The urchin Benadek, Achibol's apprentice, only wants good food and a warm place to sleep.
But nothing is ever what it seems including Benadek and nothing human is ever ... simple.

          IMAGE **

The Phastillan Novels:

The Arbiter Tales:

Bright Islands in a Dark Sea, Del Rey Books, 1993. An archaeological SF novel set in the far future, when the height of high tech is an oxcart. But once Mankind had reached for the stars: what had happened? Only the sinister alien "gods" of the Church of Pharos know. They claim humans are incapable of piloting ships in the hostile interstellar environment. But antiquarian Yan Bando has discovered an ancient wrecked starship, with human skeletons at the controls, and he can prove the ship's last planetfall but one was definitely not Earth...

Copyright  1999-2017, L. Warren Douglas Version 3.1, January, 2017

          HTML 4.0 Transitional